Use this guide to help with research for Eng 1510 and/or Coms 1030 course assignments.
Last Updated: Feb 23, 2016
This guide shows you the steps of college research.
Each tabbed page focuses on a research step.
Visual aids can be a very powerful tool to enhance the impact of your presentations.
Words and images presented in different formats can appeal directly to your audience’s imagination, adding power to your spoken words.
PowerPoint 2010 is a visual and graphical application, primarily used for creating presentations.
Use These Databases
- MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this interdisciplinary database provides articles on most every topic. It can be a good place to begin your research.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is an interdisciplinary scholarly database.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" topic in the news each week. Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage including social trends, education, the environment, and technology.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Use the Opposing Viewpoints in Context for finding information to support assignments such as argumentative or persuasive essays or speeches.
- Point of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
- Pros & Cons of Controversial Issues
Although not an article database, this website is similar to CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints. It presents controversial issues in a straightforward, unbiased, primarily pro-con format.
- Times Topics
From the New York Times. Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on these topics.
Tour the Harold B. Lee Library with Stephen Jones, a student (now an alumni) of Brigham Young University.
Note: For Firefox users there are known issues with Flash. Firefox recommends Flash 10,3. See Firfox's instructions.
Hannah V. McCauley Library #220Send Email