Where do I start? A guide to research in the field of Human Services using peer reviewed journals.
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014
Writing A Research Paper
- Analyzing Assignments
"One of the big challenges in completing any writing assignment is understanding what a professor wants from student papers."
- Writing in college: a Short Guide to College Writing
From the University of Chicago's Writing Center.
Sections include: Preparing to write and drafting the paper; A strategy for analyzing and revising a first draft; Revising the introduction and conclusion, and polishing the draft; But what if you get stuck? A good solution and a terrible solution.
- Writing Research Papers
This index page provides a "menu" of research and writing resources. One section includes organization strategies for cause-effect, chronological, compare-contrast, and problem-solution and transitioning.
- Skidmore College Guide to Writing
Pay particular attention to: Writing process; Useful terms; Style and clarity and Advice about quoting and citing.
- How to Write a College Paper
From Villanova University's Writing Center. It focuses on the hows and the whys of college writing.
The section, Nuts & Bolts: Writing the Paper, is where you want to concentrate your attention. Includes developing a thesis, an argument, mastering introductions, conclusion, "Quick & dirty tips" for better grammar, and polishing your paper.
- Pre-writing Techniques
- Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue
Purdue's writing lab Internet site is highly thought of in academic circles. Covers every aspect of writing.
- Student Tips for Avoiding Plagiarism Through Critical Thinking and Research Skills
Provides a quick overview of skills to avoid plagiarism.
Make Your Paper Flow
A selection of transitional words and phrases helps your writing flow more smoothly. These words can also assist in clarifying what needs to be quoted and cited.
For example, "Signal the Use of a Source" aids in finding ways to introduce the source (the citation) in your research paper.
- The Writer's Handbook: Using transitional words & phrases
Transitional words and phrases can create powerful links between ideas in your paper.
Writing Center, University of Wisconsin - Madison
- Transitional Words & Phrases
Provides examples of transitional words and phrases in areas such as illustration, contrast, addition, concession, similarity or comparison, consequences and summary.
- Transitional Words & Phrases
As author Robert Harris states, transitional words and phrases provide the glue that holds ideas together in writing.
- Trasitional Devices
"Transitional devices are like bridges between parts of your paper. They are cues that help the reader to interpret ideas a paper develops."
- Signal Your Commentary on Source Material
Provides a table of transitional words and phrases. These "help make a smooth movement from sources material to your own words." See the Make a Transition section and the Examples which follow.
- Signal the Use of a Source
Assists in finding a way to introduce the source (citation) in your research paper. Suggests three strategies that "makes your writing flow more smoothly."
Includes "Verbs to Use Instead of 'Says/Said' or 'States/Stated.'"