This is the "Start Here" page of the "POLS 1010: American National Government - Dr. Linda Trautman" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POLS 1010: American National Government - Dr. Linda Trautman   Tags: comparative politics, government, presidential elections  

Use this guide to research your Political Science research papers.
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://oul.libguides.com/pols1010 Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

1916: Women's Bureau Democratic National
Committee campaign poster for Woodrow
Wilson

Presidential Campaign. [Photographer]. Retrieved
          from Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.
          http://quest.eb.com/images/115_880982

 

Textbook

Government By The People

Use your textbook as a research source of information.

 

Database Tutorial

Academic Search Complete
Tutorial

This video shows how to add political science and other subject databases to your Academic Search Complete search. 

 

Research Process

The Steps of College Research

  • For a multi-sentence, concept topic:
    -  Research each sentence individually
  • Before you begin searching, locate the most
    important words to use.
       - Underline these keywords or phrases.
       
  • Find iinformation.
       -  Use the online catalogs and article databases.
  • Evaluate the information.
  • Avoid plagiarism.  
       -  Observe academic ethical standards
       -  Keep track of what information from what source.
       -  Use our Plagiarism Guide.
  • Cite accurately. 
       -  Use our Citation Style Guides and other library resources.            

Article Databases

First Choice Artlce Databases

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) is a gateway to subject sepecific databases.  Use the blue "Choose Databases" option to include additional databases or Political Science research:
    •    Political Science Complete
    •    International Political Science
    •    America: History & Life
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    This is the largest interdisciplinary database in the world. Excellent starting point for research of any kind.
  • Political Science Complete
    Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product.
  • International Political Science Abstracts
    International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science.
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of political science topics as well as other areas of interest.
    CQ Research provides statistics, charts and other quantitative information.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Covers a wide range of topics, including the two-party system and politics& the media.
  • Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
    Although not actually a database, Pros and Cons is similar to Opposing Viewpoints.
 

How to use Internet Resources

Internet Resources

This is a collection of carefully selected Internet sources.  Each item listed provides access to specific information for the research questions.   These Internet sites include:

  • Additional tools, such as the Pew Research Center and the Brookings Institute link to articles as well as their homepages.
  • Timelines provide a quick look at the various events and issues leading up to the elections.
  • Public Opinion Polls report data on topics such as third parties, voter turnout, Super PACs & campaign finance, etc
  • Click on the Internet Resources title to go to this page.

Have any questions?

Profile Image
Julia Robinson
Contact Info
740-681-3348
Send Email
 

Ask a librarian

Please Interrupt Us!
We're at the Reference Desk waiting for you.

A librarian can help you:

    -  search smarter, search faster

    -  define and develop your topic

    -  locate keywords and phrases
       for your topic

    -  use the databases and
       catalogs efficiently

    -  request books from other OU 
       campuses and OhioLINK

    -  with your citations

    -  with any of your research
      problems

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip