This is the "Start Here" page of the "EDEC 3701: Diversity in Early Childhood Education - Dr. Debra Dunning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDEC 3701: Diversity in Early Childhood Education - Dr. Debra Dunning   Tags: early childhood education  

Use this resource guide to locate information for your assignment.
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2015 URL: http://oul.libguides.com/edec3701 Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Afghan girls attend class atBamSarai School

How can a librarian help with your Diversity Literature/Research Review assignment?

A librarian can help guide you through this process because we are skilled in research.  A librarian can:

  • Help you formulate your research question.

  • Help you to develop your search strategies.

  • Help you identify databases where you can find your topic quickly without wasting time.

  • Help you search the web effectively and show you how to analyze websites for authentic content and reliability.

  • Help you figure out the citation formats.  For citation style guides, click here.

 Afghan Girls Attend Class, At Bam Sarai School, In The Village Of Bam Sarai, In Central Bamyan Province. Some 650 Girls And Boys, Many Of The Ethnic Hazara Minority, Attend Classes In Two Shifts. Afghanistan. July 7, 2007.. [Photography]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. 

 

Assignment

Emergency copy of your assignment!

 

Classroom

Third Grade Classroom. [Photography].
          Retrieved from Encyclopædia
          Britannica ImageQuest.
          http://quest.eb.com/images/139_1966453

 

Diversity in the classroom

Classroom. [Photography]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica
          ImageQuest. http://quest.eb.com/images/139_2014170

 

The Steps of college research

  1. Choose a topic.
       - Narrow or broaden the topic as needed.
       - Create a research question for your topic.
  2. Identify the keywords for your research question.
       -  Before you begin searching, you'll need to locate the most
          important words to use.
  3. Find information.
       -  Use the online catalogs and article databases.
  4. Evaluate your search results.
       -  Evaluation includes criteria such as authority, accuracy, and lack of
          bias.
  5. Avoid plagiarism.
       -  Observe academic ethical standards.
       -  Keep track of what information from what source.
       -  Use our Plagiarism Guide.
  6. Cite accurately.
       -  Use our Citation Style Guides and other library resources.
               
 

The Assignment

Research Project
Conduct a Literature/Research Review

  • Locate credible resources for your group's assigned topic.
  • Do not answer the question accompanying the topic.
  • Think of the question proposed as if you must write a research paper about it.
  • Show how you would conduct a literature/research review on the topic.
  • Your group is responsible for narrowing the question accompanying your assigned topic.
  • Locate 10-15 sources that focus on the narrowed question.
  • List these sources in APA citation style format.
  • Print off one of the resources from your search. 
  • Highlight the pertinent information in the chosen resource.
  • Present your group's findings to the class.
  • Distribute the APA list of your findings to the class.
 

Articles

Interdisciplinary & Education Databases

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database; includes education discipline.
     - Use the blue CHOOSE DATABASES to select
       additional Subject Databases.

MasterFILE Premier
An interdisciplinary full-text database; includes education & government information.

Education Research Complete
Covers all levels of education and all educational specialties and social issues.

Education Full Text
Covers latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods.

ERIC (now under The Institute of Educational Sciences)
Covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides.

 

Article Subject Databases

Add Interdisciplinary Resources

Why?   Education is a very interdisciplinary field.  
Include additional subject areas to improve the quality of your search results.  

1.  In either Academic Search Complete or 
     Education Research Complete, select the
     blue CHOOSE DATABASES.

2. There's a choice of over 70 Subject
    databases.

3.  Select your database(s), choose OK,
       
4.  The databases selected are searched
     together.

 

Which Subject Databases?

Choose Subject Databases based on your topic.  Descriptions:

  • Sociology 
    Includes social behavior, relationships, family, culture & social structure.
         -  SocINDEX 
         -  Sociological Collection
  • Psychology
    Includes behavioral characteristics, observation & experimental methods, and anthropology.
         -  PsychINFO
         -  Psychological & Behavioral Science
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    Includes information on collection development, information management and related topics.
  • Newspaper Source
    Some topics may benefit from including newspapers as part of the research process.  Several Ohio newspapers are included.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip