Resources for education research.
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2013
Welcome to the Education Research LibGuide
Use the tabs at the top of the guide to navigate through the variety of research resources available to you.
Here you'll find lists of resources of all kinds as well as instructions on how to make the best use them.
Why use Reference books?
To get a quick overview of research paper topics.
For descriptions of concepts and ideas.
To provide definitions, statistics & other details.
To help narrow your research topic.
To identify keywords for a search in databases and the ALICE and OhioLINK catalogs.
These article databases focus on the field of Education. Use the tabs above to view more resources, including additional article database that are useful for Education majors.
Remember, when you're off-campus authenticate yourself as an OU student by using the Research from Home link. Then you'll be able to use the subscription databases and other restricted research tools.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
Topics covered include all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education and all education fields of study
- Education Full Text (Wilson)
Includes coverage of international and U.S. articles and books. Full-text.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Excellent database that focuses on children's literature. It includes book reviews, best book lists, annually updated state reading lists, teaching tools and lesson plans.
On-campus use only (at the moment).
The number of search options are helpful in refining a search by: grade level, fiction & non-fiction, genre, Lexile range, reading level, curriculum tools, and book reviews.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This is the largest interdisciplinary database in the world. Excellent starting point for research of any kind. It covers all academic areas of study, including education and social science. Option of limiting a search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals.
Use "Choose Databases" to add Education Research Complete & ERIC to add to ASC. You'll search all three databases simultaneously.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
The ERIC database is noted for it's often unique content and online thesaurus. Both the print (at the Reference Desk) and online thesaurus will assist in locating additional keywords and phrases for your search.