This is the "Start Here" page of the "HST 2900: Special Topics Human Services - Dr. Lisa Skeens" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HST 2900: Special Topics Human Services - Dr. Lisa Skeens   Tags: article databases, catalog, cite, evaluate, human services, keywords, narrow topic  

Where do I start? A guide to research in the field of Human Services using peer reviewed journals.
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://oul.libguides.com/hst2900 Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Human Services

A Social Worker with a mother  and child

Social Worker With Mother And Child. [Photography]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica
          ImageQuest.
http://quest.eb.com/images/139_1943176

First Choice Databases

Recommended Databases
Limit search results to Academic Journals

Understand how these article databases function.  Use the EBSCO tutorial at the bottom of the list to improve search results.

 

Homepage tabs

Start With Academic Search Complete

Use the Academic Search Complete Tab to type in your keywords.
You can add subject databases using the blue Choose Databases.

 

The Steps of college research

Instructions

  1. Choose a topic.
       - Narrow or broaden the topic as needed.

  2. Identify the Keywords for your research question.
       -  Before you begin searching, you'll need to locate the most important
          words to use.

  3. Find information.
       -  Use the online catalogs and article databases.

  4. Evaluate your search results.
       -  Evaluation includes criteria such as authority, accuracy, and lack
          of bias.

  5. Avoid plagiarism.
       -  Observe academic ethical standards.
       -  Keep track of what information from what source.
       -  Use our Plagiarism Guide.

  6. Cite accurately.
       -  Use our Citation Style Guide and other library resources.            

Subject Databases

Topics Make a BIG Difference

Your choice of topic the most important decsion you'll make in research.

Depending on your topic choice, add one or more of these specialized databases in your search.   

 

Add Subject Databases

How To Add More Databases

Select the blue Choose Databases.

  • Put a check-mark by the subject database(s) you want. 
  • Click the yellow OK button.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip