This is the "Start Here" page of the "PSY 2120: Research Methods in Psychology - Dr. Patrick Munhall" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSY 2120: Research Methods in Psychology - Dr. Patrick Munhall   Tags: citation, citing, psychinfo, psychology, research  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2015 URL: http://oul.libguides.com/psy2120 Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction

PsychINFO Research Database

Psychology is an exceptionally broad topic, with numerous branches that explore very specific areas of the mind, brain and behavior. 

  • PsychINFO  
      
    PsychINFO is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Additional Databases

Other Choices

Other general (interdisciplinary) and subject database work well with PsychINFO.

  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    Like PsychINFO, SocINDEX has a thesaurus. Good choice for topics which have a sociological component.
  • Sociological Collection
    An additional sociology database to use with PsychINFO.
  • Gender Studies
    Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Also includes parts of Child Development & Adolescent Studies and Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases.
 

"The Anatomy of the Brain," 1535

The word "psychology" literally means "study of the mind." 

The Anatomy Of The Brain', 1535.. [Photograph].
          Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica
          ImageQuest.

          http://quest.eb.com/images/102_530746

 

Add Subject Databases

Academic Search Complete
(Located in the tabbed box on the homepage)

     1.  Use Academic Search Complete as a
          "Gateway" to PsychINFO and 70 other
          subject & general databases.

     2.  To add subject databases, select the blue
          Choose Databases above the search boxes. 

     3.  Then select other subject
          databases for your topic.

     4.  Click OK.

     5.  You'll now be able to search all these
          databases at once.

 

Research Process

Steps of College Research

  1. Choose a topic.
       - Narrow or broaden the topic as needed.
  2. Identify the keywords for your research question.
       -  Before you begin searching, you'll need to
          locate the most important word to use.
  3. Find information.
       -  Use the online catalogs and article
          databases.
  4. Evaluate your search results.
       -  Evaluation includes criteria such as
          authority, accuracy, and lack of bias.
  5. Avoid plagiarism.
       -  Observe academic ethical standards.
       -  Keep track of what information from what
          source.
       -  Use our Plagiarism Guide.
  6. Cite accurately.
       -  Use our Citation Style Guides and other
          library resources.         
       
 

Interlibrary Loan

Request an Article Through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Can't seem to locate the full-text of an article?

First, make absolutely sure the article is not available in full-text, select: .

  • Read the left menu options.  Select Article.
  • To simplify filling out the request form:
    •  Use two screens.
    • The first with the article's citation information.
    • The second, where you've logged into the Interlibrary Loan request page.
    • Copy the citation information and paste it into the form.
    • You can only copy/paste one piece of information at a time- Journal title, Article title, etc.
  •  We'll send a request to a library which owns the volume/year you need. That library will scan the article, create a PDF file of it, and send it back  to  our Interlibrary Loan system.
  • Please note: you cannot request journal articles  through OhioLINK!
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip